Lahari Yoga

Health~Honesty~Equality & Loving Kindness

L A H A R I • Y O G A

We stand for health, honesty, equality,

treating people how

you'd want to be treated, helping those in need,

and loving kindness.

Look for fun new classes for tween girls, called LAHARI GIRLS! We have two classes, one for Elementary age, and one for the Jr. High girls. These kind, clever, and brave girls come to the yoga studio fresh after school, looking to relax, stretch, and connect, and meanwhile they are learning self acceptance, balance, health, and fitness.

We also have an athletic performance series called the WARRIOR SERIES, which is geared towards strength, focus, injury prevention, and breath control. Hockey players of all ages, all sports teams such as basketball, ringette, and soccer, and all coaches and parents are welcome to join this series. The Warrior series also reaches out to Firefighters and other professionals that have demanding physical job requirements. We've had lots of positive feedback so far; look for the hashtags #YogaForFirefighters and #YogaForHockey on Twitter and Facebook!

And finally, for those looking for traditional yoga taught at beginner, intermediate, advanced, and RYT levels, welcome to our FLOW SERIES! Flow Classes can be found at many different times of day to suit all schedules, and are taught in a range of Hatha, Yin, Power Flow, and Hot Yoga styles. Flow classes give a great workout and focus on body sculpting, physical fitness, weight management, flexibility, and balance while also challenging the mind and spirit to go deeper.   

Vinyasa Flow

Vinyasa means "breath-synchronized movement," and Vinyasa yoga is a series of poses that will move you through the power of inhaling and exhaling. Vinyasa movements are smoothly flowing and almost dance-like, which explains why it is sometimes referred to as Vinyasa Flow or just Flow.


The word hatha means willful or forceful. Hatha yoga refers to a set of physical exercises (known as asanas or postures), and sequences of asanas, designed to align your skin, muscles, and bones. The postures are also designed to open the many channels of the body—especially the main channel, the spine—so that energy can flow freely.

Hatha is also translated as ha meaning “sun” and tha meaning “moon.” This refers to the balance of masculine aspects—active, hot, sun—and feminine aspects—receptive, cool, moon—within all of us. Hatha yoga is a path toward creating balance and uniting opposites. In our physical bodies we develop a balance of strength and flexibility. We also learn to balance our effort and surrender in each pose.

Hatha yoga is a powerful tool for self-transformation. It asks us to bring our attention to our breath, which helps us to still the fluctuations of the mind and be more present in the unfolding of each moment.


Yin Yoga has a meditative approach with a deep physical focus. Here the practitioner is trying to access the deeper tissues such as the connective tissue and fascia and many of the postures focus on areas that encompass a joint (hips, sacrum, spine). As one ages flexibility in the joints decreases and Yin yoga is a wonderful way to maintain that flexibility.